Kamaboko – that pink thing

So what’s that bright pink stuff that I used for some of my bentos like the My Melody Bento?

It’s actually this:

Kamaboko

Kamaboko

Kamaboko, aka, Japanese fishcake.

Where to buy in Singapore?

I got this kamaboko from NTUC, at their freezer sections.  NTUC Extra and Finest usually carry this.  But for other normal outlets, I think depends on the demand.It is sold at slightly under S$ 2.00.

I have also seen another brand sold in Cold Storage, but a lot more expensive.  Hmmm, either S$4+ or S$7+.  But I have no idea what are the differences.  Maybe I should buy the Cold Storage ones and try.  But so expensive!!! 😦

Such big block of kamabokp, how to finish? 

PRECISELY!  Which is why I normally allow the kamaboko to just defrost a little bit, and I will cut it into 3 chunks.  Usually by the time it reaches home from the supermarket, it is ready to be cut.  I will then store each chunk separately in the freezer, but put the one I want to use in the fridge.

After it is defrosted, I will boil it in water for a few minutes.  Followed by cutting the pink portion off, use whatever I need, and keep the rest back into the fridge, and try to finish within a week.  Both the white and pink portions can be used, as seen in this bento.

And what happen to the balance at the end of the school week?  Just add to soup/vegetable dishes.

Hope this entry helps.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Ingredients

Leave a Reply

