Bento 211 – Keroppi Bento

My Kokeshi Box in action 🙂  A very simple to do, 10 minutes Keroppi Bento.  Originally only planned to do 1, but giant Keroppi looked ugly.  Changed my mind and made 2 instead.

Main dish was marmite chicken, one of my family favorite 🙂

Some asked me if only Japanese rice can be used to make these shaped rice.  My answer is no.

Tips : Normal Chinese Jasmine rice can be used to shape into rice balls.  Just add slightly more water.

Keroppi Bento

Keroppi Bento

4 Comments

Filed under Animals, Bento Tips, Celebrities, Prim & Proper

4 responses to “Bento 211 – Keroppi Bento

  1. M. Shaffer

    “Tips : Normal Chinese Jasmine rice can be used to shape into rice balls. Just add slightly more water.”
    I have successfully used brown rice to make rice balls.
    I occasionally mix in shredded coconut (the kind you find in the baking section) for extra flavor.

    • ezmum

      Brown rice – That’s helpful! I’m sure my blog reader gain from that sharing. Thank you.
      Shredded Coconut – in Singapore and a few other Asian countries, we have coconut rice, yes, very yummy.
      But if the bento is for packing out, especially in a humid country, I will be very careful about anything diary and coconut. It turns bad easily.

      • M. Shaffer

        Thanks, I’ll have to remember that about coconut….Does toasting it make a difference?

  2. Pingback: Keroppi Bento

Leave a Reply

